Nedbank Cup past winners

Bloemfontein Celtic and Mamelodi Sundowns will face-off in the Nedbank Cup on Saturday afternoon at the 


Celtic beat Baroka 3-0 at Orlando Stadium last Saturday to book themselves a ticket to the Nedbank Cup final, where they will meet Mamelodi Sundowns after they beat Bidvest Wits 3-2 in the other semi-final.


The most successful team of the last decade has been three-time winners SuperSport United, who lifted the trophy in 2012, 2016 and 2017. 


Read the latest Soccerzela monthly E-magazine for free below:

Stuart Baxter is also the most successful coach in recent years, having won it with Kaizer Chiefs in 2013 before successfully defending the title with Matsatsantsa


Winning coaches:


2008 Trott Moloto (Mamelodi Sundowns)


Moloto took over at Sundowns from Gordon Igesund in February 2008, just a month before Sundowns started their Nedbank Cup campaign. He saw them past bothSuperSport United and Kaizer Chiefs, before a meeting with National First Division side Mpumalanga Black Aces in the decider. Lerato Chabangu scored a late winner for Sundowns and they lifted the trophy.


2009 Julio Leal (Moroka Swallows)


This would prove to be the final game in charge for the Brazilian Leal, who was axed despite his side lifting the Nedbank Cup trophy, paying the price for some indifferent league form. He got his side to the final where they faced another NFD side, University of Pretoria, and had too much for the second-tier side as Brazilian Vinicius Da Silva scored the only goal of the game.


2010 Roger de Sa (BidVest Wits)


De Sa led Wits to a surprise final appearance with a young team that was by no means the finished article. They faced off against AmaZulu and in a tight game, vanquished their opponents 3-0 after three late goals, two from Sifiso Vilakazi and a third via Brazilian Fabricio da Silva.


2011 Ruud Krol (Orlando Pirates)


Another coach who won the Nedbank Cup and left immediately afterwards, Dutchman Krol led his Pirates team to the League and top eight trophies as well, but did not have his contract renewed. Pirates went behind in this final against NFD side Black Leopards, but stormed back to win 3-1 thanks to goals from Thulasizwe Mbuyane (two) and Isaac Chansa.


2012 Gavin Hunt (SuperSport United)


This was the first of three finals in a row for Hunt and his SuperSport side easily defeated Sundowns 2-0 as Thabo September and Kermit Erasmus netted second half goals. He would return in 2013 only to see SuperSport lose 1-0 to Kaizer Chiefs, and then following a switch to BidVest Wits, led them to the 2014 final as well where they were beaten 3-1 by Orlando Pirates.


2013 Stuart Baxter (Kaizer Chiefs)


Baxter started like a house on fire at Chiefs, pulling off the ŒDouble¹ in his first season as he ended it with the Nedbank Cup trophy following a 1-0 win over SuperSport. Bernard Parker got the only goal of the game in extra-time as the AmaKhosi denied Matsatsantsa back-to-back trophy wins.


2014 Vladimir Vermezovic (Orlando Pirates)


Pirates had already advanced past the Last 32 of the Nedbank Cup when Vermezovic, who also spent nearly three seasons at Chiefs, arrived at the club. He promised his players that if they reached the final, he would ensure they won it and so it proved as they roared back from a goal down to beat Wits 3-1 with Kermit Erasmus (two) and Sifiso Myeni on target.


2015 Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)


Mosimane had already lifted the trophy with SuperSport in 2005, and edged to another win with Sundowns as they defeated De Sa¹s Ajax Cape Town in the decider in a penalty shoot-out following a 0-0 draw. Abbubaker Mobara had a chance to win it for Ajax in the shoot-out, but missed and Sundowns won the day as Sundowns repeated their 2008 success.


2016 Stuart Baxter (SuperSport United)


Baxter had only been at SuperSport a matter of months when he led them to the Nedbank Cup trophy, defeating Pirates 3-2 in the final. After going a goal down, his side stormed into a 3-1 halftime lead as Jeremy Brockie, Bradley Grobler and Michael Boxall all found the net to give Baxter his second trophy win.


2017 Stuart Baxter (SuperSport United)


Baxter helped SuperSport retain the Nedbank Cup title with a thumping 4-1 victory over Orlando Pirates in the decider. Bradley Grobler got two, with Jeremy Brockie and Kingston Nkhatha also on the scoresheet. It meant that Baxter never lost a Nedbank Cup fixture in his 18 months in charge at SuperSport. In fact, Baxter only suffered a single out-right defeat in 21 Nedbank Cup matches with SuperSport and Kaizer Chiefs which was a 2-1 loss to Black Leopards in 2015.


2018 Luc Eymael (Free State Stars)


Belgian coach Eymael guided Free State Stars to the final, where they met Maritzburg United at the Cape Town Stadium. The latter were probably the slight favourites, but it was Stars who triumphed in the decider as they provided a tactical masterclass to keep the KwaZulu-Natal side at bay. Goodman Dlamini scored the winning goal in a 1-0 success for Ea Lla Koto.


2019 Dan Malesela (TS Galaxy)


Malesela adds to the list of individuals to have won the Nedbank Cup competition as both a player and a coach, guiding second-tier TS Galaxy to a shock victory over Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban. It was without doubt the pinnacle of his coaching career to date and his magic moment was sealed by a late Zakhele Lepasa penalty.    


Nedbank cup winners list :


2008 - Mamelodi Sundowns

2009 - Moroka Swallows

2010 - Bidvest Wits

2011 - Orlando Pirates

2012 - SuperSport United

2013 - Kaizer Chiefs

2014 - Orlando Pirates

2015 - Mamelodi Sundowns

2016 - SuperSport United

2017 - SuperSport United

2018 - Free State Stars

2019 - TS Galaxy